Album : Metallica - Garage Inc. (1998)

Metallica - "Garage Inc."
- Released: Nov 1998
- Produced by: Bob Rock w/ Hetfield & Ulrich
Album : Metallica - Garage Inc. (1998)
Album : Metallica - Garage Inc. (1998)

Cover album by Metallica
Released November 24, 1998
Recorded New cover songs recorded & mixed from September–October 1998 at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, California. Other songs recorded at various locations.
Genre Hard rock, heavy metal
Length 136:09
Label Elektra
Producer Bob Rock, James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Mark Whitaker

Garage Inc. is a compilation by American heavy metal band Metallica, released in 1998. (See 1998 in music). It includes newly recorded cover versions of other artists' songs, all of their b-side covers released up to that point, and the entire Garage Days Re-Revisited EP, which had gone out of print since its original release in 1987. The title is a portmanteau of Garage Days Re-Revisited and their song Damage, Inc.

Track listing

Disc one

These tracks were recorded in 1997–1998 for the album.

1. "Free Speech for the Dumb" (Garry Maloney, Kevin "Cal" Morris, Tony "Bones" Roberts, Roy "Rainy" Wrainright) (Discharge cover) – 2:35
2. "It's Electric" (Sean Harris, Brian Tatler) (Diamond Head cover) – 3:33
3. "Sabbra Cadabra" (Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward) (Black Sabbath cover) – 6:20
* Although only listed as "Sabbra Cadabra", the track is actually a medley of Black Sabbath's "Sabbra Cadabra" and "A National Acrobat".
4. "Turn the Page" (Bob Seger) (Bob Seger cover) – 6:06
5. "Die, Die My Darling" (Glenn Danzig) (The Misfits cover) – 2:29
6. "Loverman" (Nick Cave) (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds cover) – 7:52
7. "Mercyful Fate" (King Diamond, Hank Shermann) (Mercyful Fate medley) – 11:11
* Medley consisting of five Mercyful Fate songs: "Evil", "Curse Of The Pharaohs", "Satan's Fall", "A Corpse Without a Soul" and "Into The Coven" and is Metallica's longest studio song ever recorded.
8. "Astronomy" (Joe Bouchard, Albert Bouchard, Sandy Pearlman) (Blue Öyster Cult cover) – 6:37
9. "Whiskey in the Jar" (Traditional) (covering Thin Lizzy's rendition) – 5:04**
* Contrary to popular belief, "Whiskey in the Jar" is not a Thin Lizzy song; they also covered it. To get a better feeling for the origin, see Whiskey in the Jar. Metallica's cover was based on the debut success by Thin Lizzy in 1973.
10. "Tuesday's Gone" (Ronnie Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Allen Collins) (Lynyrd Skynyrd cover) – 9:05
* Recorded in 1997 with several guest artists, including Pepper Keenan of Corrosion of Conformity, Jerry Cantrell and Sean Kinney of Alice in Chains, "Big" Jim Martin, John Popper on harmonica, Gary Rossington on additional guitar and Les Claypool of Primus on banjo as Metallica hosted a radio program out of San Jose, CA (KSJO). James is the only member of the band to appear on the track on most of the vocals.
11. "The More I See" (Molaney, Morris, Roberts, Wainwright) (Discharge cover) – 4:48
12. "Bridge of Sighs" (Robin Trower) (hidden track)

Disc two

These tracks are a collection of B-sides from artists Metallica were inspired by throughout the early years of the band.

1. "Helpless" (Harris, Tatler) – 6:38
* Diamond Head cover, from the 1980 album Lightning to the Nations.
2. "The Small Hours" (John Mortimer, John McCullim, Bryan Bartley, Ron Levine) – 6:43
* Holocaust cover.
3. "The Wait" (Jaz Coleman, Kevin "Geordie" Walker,Martin "Youth" Glover, Paul Ferguson) – 4:55
* Killing Joke cover, from the 1980 album Killing Joke.
4. "Crash Course in Brain Surgery" (Tony Bourge, Ray Phillips, Burke Shelley) – 3:10
* Budgie cover, from the 1974 album In for the Kill.
5. "Last Caress/Green Hell" (Danzig) – 3:29
* The Misfits covers, from the 1980 Beware EP and 1983 album Earth A.D./Wolfs Blood respectively.
* At the end of the track is a mock parody of metal legend Iron Maiden's classic hit "Run to the Hills." Iron Maiden responded to this on a B-side cover of the Montrose song entitled "Space Station No. 5".
6. "Am I Evil?" (Harris, Tatler) – 7:50
* Diamond Head cover, from the 1980 album Lightning to the Nations.
7. "Blitzkrieg" (Ian Jones, Jim Sirotto, Smith) – 3:36
* Blitzkrieg cover, from the 1980 single, later available on the 1985 album A Time of Changes.
8. "Breadfan" (Bourge, Phillips, Shelley) – 5:41
* Budgie cover, from the 1973 album Never Turn Your Back On a Friend.
9. "The Prince" (Harris, Tatler) – 4:25
* Diamond Head cover, from the 1980 album Lightning to the Nations.
10. "Stone Cold Crazy" (Freddie Mercury, Brian May, John Deacon, Roger Taylor) – 2:17
* Queen cover, from the 1974 album Sheer Heart Attack.
* Originally recorded for the Rubaiyant: Elektra's 30th Anniversary album, a compilation put together by their US label featuring their current roster covering songs that had been released by Elektra during that 30-year period.
11. "So What" (Nick "Animal" Kulmer, Chris "Magoo" Exall, Clive "Winston" Blake) – 3:08
* Anti-Nowhere League cover, the B-side of the band's debut single "Streets of London", in 1981.
12. "Killing Time" (Vivian Campbell, Trevor Fleming, Raymond Haller, David Bates) – 3:03
* Sweet Savage cover.
13. "Overkill" (Eddie Clarke, Lemmy, Phil Taylor) – 4:04
* Motörhead cover.
14. "Damage Case" (Clarke, Lemmy, Taylor, Mick Farren) – 3:40
* Motörhead cover.
15. "Stone Dead Forever" (Clarke, Lemmy, Taylor) – 4:51
* Motörhead cover.
16. "Too Late Too Late" (Clarke, Lemmy, Taylor) – 3:12
* Motörhead cover.

* Tracks 1-5 originally appeared on The $5.98 E.P.: Garage Days Re-Revisited
* Tracks 6-7 originally appeared on the "Creeping Death" single
* Tracks 8-9 originally appeared on the "Harvester of Sorrow" single
* Track 10 later appeared on the "Enter Sandman" single
* Tracks 11-12 originally appeared on "The Unforgiven" single
* Tracks 13-16 originally appeared on the "Hero of the Day" single


* Kirk Hammett – guitar
* James Hetfield – guitar, vocals
* Jason Newsted – bass, vocals
* Lars Ulrich – drums
* Cliff Burton – bass (Blitzkrieg and Am I Evil?)


* Bob Rock, James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich – producers
* Mike Clink, Brian Dobbs, Jeffrey Norman, Csaba Petocz, Randy Staub, Toby Wright – engineers
* Leff Lefferts, Chris Manning, Kent Matcke – assistant engineers
* Michael Fraser, Flemming Rasmussen, Randy Staub – mixing
* George Marino – mastering
* George Marino – remastering
* Paul DeCarli, Mike Gillies – digital editing
* Andie Airfix – design
* Ross Halfin – cover design
* Anton Corbijn, Ross Halfin, Mark Leialoha – photography
* David Fricke – liner notes